members

Task Force on Emergency Preparedness, Recovery and Resiliency

The Presidential Task Force on Emergency Preparedness, Recovery and Resiliency is a response to recent extreme weather events, natural disasters and the national emergency from the COVID-19 pandemic. These events have heightened the nationís collective awareness of the need for access to energy and the importance of ensuring the continued delivery of essential energy services. The intensified focus on protecting the reliability of our vulnerable energy systems and creating a more resilient infrastructure will enable the nation to better respond to future large-scale and catastrophic events. The task force is comprised of a balanced, diverse group of NARUC members, stakeholders and experts who will consider policy issues facing the regulatory community related to emergency preparedness, recovery and resiliency.

The task force will lead NARUCís efforts in responding to and educating members about existing and emerging issues and opportunities associated with emergency preparedness, recovery and resiliency, including best practices, funding opportunities, resources and collaborative efforts. Considerations for the task force include available federal funding, the meaning of resiliency; the critical connections that exist between regulatory policy and implementation; the relationship between preparedness, response, and resilience; and the future of resiliency as it relates to a diverse and changing energy future.

The task force will include a Special Subcommittee comprised of and chaired by members of the task force to study the COVID-19 pandemic response. Specifically, the Special Subcommittee will gather, examine and analyze regulatory and industry actions, responses and lessons learned from COVID-19.

ďAs state regulators, we are uniquely aware of how these events affect our utilities, which includes electric, gas, water and telecommunications companies,Ē said Presley, a commissioner with the Mississippi Public Service Commission. ďAnything that affects utilities affects the people and businesses in our communities. Establishing this task force and its special subcommittee will enable us to better identify and address a host of relevant issues.Ē

The primary goals of the Task Force on Emergency Preparedness, Recovery and Resiliency are to:

Conduct research and provide ongoing education on federal funding to support recovery; Support NARUC member preparedness in the event of a Black Sky event; Seek to build consensus on construction standards for FEMA reference in recovery; and Provide education on COVID-19 lessons learned and best practices for the path forward. The task force will convene sessions with the NARUC community via conference calls, webinars and at each of NARUCís three annual national meetings, organize educational efforts within NARUC and serve as a resource for the associationís leadership on these programs.


Kimberly A. O'Guinn photo

Kimberly A. O'Guinn
(Chair)
Commissioner
Arkansas Public Service Commission     
kim.oguinn@arkansas.gov
Biography


Nicholas Andersen photo

Nicholas Andersen
Deputy Assistant Secretary
U.S. Department of Energy     
nicholas.andersen@hq.doe.gov


Sharla Artz photo

Sharla Artz
Senior Vice President
Utilities Technology Council     
sharla.artz@utc.org


Janet Gail Besser photo

Janet Gail Besser
Managing Director, Regulatory Innovation & Utility Business Models
Smart Electric Power Alliance     
jbesser@sepapower.org


Julie I. Brown photo

Julie I. Brown
Commissioner
Florida Public Service Commission     
jibrown@psc.state.fl.us
Biography


Michael E. Bryson photo

Michael E. Bryson
Senior Vice-President of Operations
PJM Interconnection    
brysonm@pjm.com


Diane X  Burman photo

Diane X Burman
Commissioner
New York State Public Service Commission     
diane.burman@dps.ny.gov
Biography


Cynthia Chaplin photo

Cynthia Chaplin
Executive Director
Canada's Energy and Utility Regulators     
cynthia@camput.org


Richard Cimerman photo

Richard Cimerman
VP External/State Affairs
NCTA     
rcimerman@ncta.com


Martha Duggan photo

Martha Duggan
Sr. Director, Reg Affrs
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association     
martha.duggan@nreca.coop


Gladys Brown Dutrieuille photo

Gladys Brown Dutrieuille
Chairman
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission     
gbd@pa.gov
Biography


James P. Griffin photo

James P. Griffin
Chair
Hawaii Public Utilities Commission     
james.p.griffin@hawaii.gov
Biography


Alex Hofmann photo

Alex Hofmann
Vice President of Engineering Services
American Public Power Association     
ahofmann@publicpower.org


Anne Hoskins photo

Anne Hoskins
Chief Policy Officer
SUNRUN, Inc.     
anne.hoskins@sunrun.com


Charles Kosak photo

Charles Kosak
Deputy Assistant Secretary, Transmission Permitting & Technical Assistance (TPTA)
U.S. Department of Energy     
charles.kosak@hq.doe.gov


Chris Krebs photo

Chris Krebs
Director
U.S. Department of Homeland Security     
Christopher.Krebs@cisa.dhs.gov


Daniel Lapato photo

Daniel Lapato
Senior Direct, State Affairs
American Gas Association    
dlapato@aga.org


Mary D Lasky photo

Mary D Lasky
Secretary and Director
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory    
mary.lasky@jhuapl.edu


Daniel Lauf photo

Daniel Lauf
Energy Program Director
National Governors Association     
Dlauf@nga.org


Odogwu Obi Linton Esq. photo

Odogwu Obi Linton Esq.
Commissioner
Maryland Public Service Commission     
odogwuobi.linton@maryland.gov
Biography


Lillian Mateo-Santos photo

Lillian Mateo-Santos
Associate Commissioner
Puerto Rico Energy Bureau     
lmateo@energia.pr.gov
Biography


Charlotte Mitchell photo

Charlotte Mitchell
Chair
North Carolina Utilities Commission     
cmitchell@ncuc.net


Philip Moeller photo

Philip Moeller
Executive Vice President, Regulatory Affairs
Edison Electric Institute     
pmoeller@eei.org


Richard Mroz photo

Richard Mroz
Managing Director
Resolute Strategies     
rmroz@resolutestrategies.net
Biography


Ellen Nowak photo

Ellen Nowak
Commissioner
Public Service Commission of Wisconsin     
ellen.nowak@wisconsin.gov
Biography


Sadzi M. Oliva photo

Sadzi M. Oliva
Commissioner
Illinois Commerce Commission     
sadzi.oliva@illinois.gov
Biography


Brandon Presley photo

Brandon Presley
Commissioner
Mississippi Public Service Commission     
brandon.presley@psc.ms.gov
Biography


Ann Rendahl photo

Ann Rendahl
Commissioner
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission     
Ann.rendahl@utc.wa.gov
Biography


Kyle Rogers photo

Kyle Rogers
Vice President, External Affairs
Spire Alabama     
kyle.rogers@spireenergy.com


Daniel C. Scripps photo

Daniel C. Scripps
Chair
Michigan Public Service Commission     
scrippsd1@michigan.gov
Biography


Genevieve Shiroma photo

Genevieve Shiroma
Commissioner
California Public Utilities Commission     
GSH@cpuc.ca.gov


Eric F. Skrmetta photo

Eric F. Skrmetta
Commissioner
Louisiana Public Service Commission     
eric.skrmetta@la.gov
Biography


Andrew Slater photo

Andrew Slater
Delaware Public Advocate
Delaware Division of the Public Advocate     
Andrew.Slater@delaware.gov


Kenya Stump photo

Kenya Stump
Assistant Director
Kentucky Public Service Commission     
Kenya.stump@ky.gov


Rob Thormeyer photo

Rob Thormeyer
Senior Director, Communications & Advocacy
Utilities Technology Council     
rob.thormeyer@utc.org


Justin T. Williams photo

Justin T. Williams
Chairman
South Carolina Public Service Commission     
justin.williams@psc.sc.gov


William Yates photo

William Yates
President & CEO
Yates Construction    
wyates@wgyates.com